Home

Image

17 weeks |

 

 

The news is out. I’m pregnant – in Kenya. 

 

It’s not so bad. Really. No one can tell yet—but we have shared with all our close friends here. It has brought a new closeness with them as well. I feel protected by them in a whole new way. 
 
I miss American foods, but have become a more innovative cook because of it. Have I mentioned we don’t have an oven, microwave, or crockpot? We use a two-burner stove for all our cooking. It’s been fun—we’ve been creative, but you can use your imagination for all that I can’t provide to subside my cravings, which have mostly been for hot, cheesy dishes in the realm of Italian cuisine. 
 
I am surviving, and in fact, I’m thriving as well! I’m able to eat healthier because I can’t give into late night cravings for fast food or even  a midnight snack of (good tasting) crackers, cheese, cereals or, or, or. I’m realizing that pregnancy cravings are an issue of mind over matter, which I think is easy to say when in a place without McDonald’s or fresh baked cookies. We did have KFC yesterday for the first time since being here; I love their fake mashed potatoes. Why are those so good?! 
 
I realize some of you just gagged.
 
That aside, I wanted to address some questions that are bound to come up. 
 
Where will the baby be born?
We plan to have our baby in Nairobi (due in April 2014). We are staying committed to Adam’s degree and want to finish strong our time in Kenya. 
 
Where in Kenya will you be having the baby?
We have an amazing hospital that was recommended by many expat wives. This hospital is known to be one of the best in all of eastern Africa. You may not think that’s saying much, but ask my sister. She was with us for our very first appointment as we met our obstetrician. She will tell you—it’s very western, modern, clean and perhaps nicer than some hospitals in the States. (Gasp!) In summary, I will not be having this baby in a mud hut.
 
Are you able to stay healthy?
Adam and I are no longer eating street food, and have wised up about what vegetables are even safe to buy off the streets. We boil all our water and properly treat all our foods. I recently had an amoeba, but was able to treat it—and God was merciful in His healing of my body and protecting the baby through the medicine. Otherwise, I am healthy and able to eat naturally all the protein and vitamins I and my growing baby need. 
 
Will you continue to teach in the slums?
This is an issue Adam and I have been talking through. You see, I love those kids and want to continue a ministry with them, but don’t feel it will be safe for me once we return from the States in January. By then, I will be in the third trimester of this pregnancy. We have several ideas for how I can continue seeing the children without regular walks into the slum. I will fill in the details once I know them myself. 
 
Do you feel safe near Kibera while pregnant?
Certainly there has been a shift in my mindset as I walk freely around this place. I am no longer one person. I am responsible for watching after myself and our unborn child. The same strength and relief I had to be mobile here before the baby remains true today, that I’m not sustained by my own strength anyway. So very thankful for that! 
 
Will the baby be born a citizen of Kenya?
No. In fact, as soon as the baby is born, we need to go through a process to legally have him/her recognized as an American citizen. That process should only take a few weeks since we’ll be working with the U.S. Embassy. 
 
I am genuinely excited that this will be the birth place and first home of our child. Adam and I have grown in many ways since moving to Kenya that it seems fitting to be bringing a baby into the world while living here. It is a unique opportunity for our ministry that we want to take hold of as well. I have fears, mostly unfounded, surrounding the matter of having our baby in a developing country, but my fears have nothing on the calling we’ve received to be here and stay here. 
 
We appreciate all the prayers and support we’ve received from you, especially since you learned of our news. Please continue to hold us in your prayers as we travel home for the holidays. 
 
We hope to see many of you then! 

Leave a comment